About Me

Hi!  My name is Alicia, and I am a full-stack software developer. After serving as a middle school & high school math & science teacher for five years, I decided to pursue software development as a career! In 2018, I went back to school to obtain a second Bachelor's degree, this time in Computer Software Technology from Ashford University.  I will be completing my degree in June 2020. In the meantime, I have been learning as much as possible, taking a 40+ hour Udemy course in software development, and I have been a Software Developer Apprentice with Techtonic Academy since June 2019. Previously, I obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Biology and a Master’s degree in Secondary Education. This blog is one of the products of my Computer Software Technology degree from Ashford University.
I first became interested in computer science after taking a Programming Concepts course at Ashford University. I liked learning how to code in Java, and it came pretty easily to me.  Before then, I had never thought of technology as a career option for myself, since I had never been exposed to it. I also saw a documentary called, CODE: Debugging the Gender Gap, through the Code for Denver Meet-Up.  This documentary inspired me to step out of my comfort zone and do something challenging.  My husband is also very supportive of my career change.
I currently work as a Software Developer Apprentice with Techtonic Academy while completing my degree in Computer Software Technology. I became a software developer because I believe that software allows problems to be solved in innovative ways.  I like the flexibility that coding allows, and the fact that this skill can be transferred across many different interest areas and fields. I enjoy software development because I am whole-brained. Developing software allows me to use the analytical and logical parts of my brain while employing my creative and artistic sides as well. I like that software development allows me to create and problem-solve at the same time.
Outside of academics, I love photography, reading, hiking, biking, snowboarding, surfing, snorkeling, and pretty much anything else outdoors.  I am originally from a suburb of Chicago, but I now live in Denver, CO with my husband of four years. We moved to Denver, CO about 3 years ago from Honolulu, HI, and we love it here!